Left rounded corner
Right rounded corner
Green box
Green box
A Look At HealthCorps' Work
Green arrow

The HealthCorps curriculum is composed of three sections — Mental Resilience, Nutrition and Fitness. This curriculum is aimed at both educating students and providing a holistic and relevant view of the role health plays in their lives.

The curriculum is taught in two manners. With our “Living Labs” program, HealthCorps Coordinators work in classrooms, the lunchroom and run after-school clubs to provide materials that integrate these elements into a comprehensive health education. Apply to be a Coordinator today.

In the fall of 2012, HealthCorps introduced HealthCorps University, a “train the trainer” professional development program that makes the HealthCorps principles and curriculum available to virtually any school. For more information, please contact HCU@HealthCorps.org.

Read below to learn more about our programs.

Living Labs

Mental Resilience: The You Factor

Mental resilience workshops are incorporated throughout the curriculum by promoting self-esteem, enhancing decision-making and communication skills, fostering healthy relationships, and setting long-term goals. HealthCorps shows students the close relationship between physical health and mental health and enables teens to make healthy choices to bolster mental well-being.

Students learn:

  • The mind and body are integrally connected
  • To recognize their strengths and self-worth
  • To recognize realistic, healthy body-types
  • To understand that mental health affects physical health
  • To better manage their time
  • To communicate effectively and in a positive way
  • To control anger
  • To understand how sleep is vital to their mood and their health

Nutrition: YOU and Finding Nutritional Balance

The nutrition workshops show students practical ways to choose foods that are healthy, how to make simple changes in their eating behaviors and develop a healthy relationship with food that will last a lifetime.

Students learn to:

  • Eat foods from all five food groups
  • Understand the health benefits and the health detriments of fat
  • Think of portion sizes
  • Eat breakfast to lose weight, gain energy, and do better in school
  • Know that the food they eat affects how they look and feel
  • Learn how to lose or gain weight responsibly
  • Choose healthy foods in restaurants
  • Avoid steroids and dubious supplements
  • Cook from scratch

Fitness: YOU and Your Body

HealthCorps students learn how to maximize their caloric burn everyday by making simple lifestyle choices, like taking the stairs instead of the elevator, getting off the subway a few stops earlier to walk, helping around the house with cooking and cleaning, and even dancing!

Students learn:

  • Exercise on a regular basis
  • Stay fit without gym equipment
  • Develop a weekly workout plan
  • Find creative and alternative ways to stay fit
  • Chiropractic/Spinal Hygiene

Apply to be a HealthCorps Coordinator Today

HealthCorps University

HealthCorps University is a “train the trainer” professional development program that makes the HealthCorps principles and curriculum available to virtually any school.

HealthCorps conducts an intensive two-day training program for a school or district, and also includes special sessions for parents and students.

For more information, please click here or contact HCU@HealthCorps.org.

Our Scope & Goals

HealthCorps’ national program spans 60 high schools in 13 states (CA, DE, FL, IL, MA, MD, MS, NJ, NC, NY, OH, OK, TX) and the District of Columbia. We have impacted 233,100 students and 446,200 friends and family through our work.

 


Current Schools

California

Long Beach Polytechnic
Evelyn Rwema
evelyn.rwema@healthcorps.org
1600 Atlantic Ave.
Long Beach, CA 90813Edison High School
Jessica Williams
jessica.williams@healthcorps.org
540 E. California Ave.
Fresno, CA 93706

American Legion HS
Marshal James
marshal.james@healthcorps.org
3801 Broadway
Sacramento, CA 95817

Cabrillo HS
Jacquelene Falch
jaki.Falch@healthcorps.org
2001 Santa Fe Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90810

NOVA Academy Early College High School of Coachella
Anayeli Zavala
anayeli.zavala@healthcorps.org
52780 Frederick Street
Coachella, CA 92236

Coachella Valley High School
Luz Aceves-Gonzalez
luz.acevez-gonzalez@healthcorps.org
83800 Airport Rd.
Thermal, CA 92274

Palm Desert HS
Megan Cornejo
megan.cornejo@healthcorps.org
74910 Aztec Rd.
Palm Desert, CA 92260

Del Norte High School
Marian Strong
marian.strong@healthcorps.org
1301 El Dorado St.
Crescent City, CA 95531

Felicitas and Gonzalo Mendez Learning Center
Felipe Valencia
felipe.valencia@healthcorps.org
1200 Plaza Del Sol
Los Angeles, CA 90033

Rancho Mirage HS
Madelyn Perez
madelyn.perez@healthcorps.org
31001 Rattler Rd.
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270

Hayward High School
Armaria Arnett
armaria.arnett
@healthcorps.org

1633 East Ave.
Hayward, CA 94541

Hiram Johnson
Victoria Lyon
victoria.lyon@healthcorps.org
6879 14th Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95820

Herbert Hoover High School
Shonique White
shonique.white@healthcorps.org
4474 El Cajon Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92115

Encina Prepatory High School
Kristen Rulifson
kristen.rulifson@healthcorps.org
1400 Bell Street
Sacramento, CA 95825

Roosevelt HS
Saul Jimenez- Suarez
saul.jimenez-suarez@healthcorps.org
AMAHS- Saul Jimenez
456 S. Matthews St.
Los Angeles, CA 90033

Sacramento Charter HS
Krystal Bell
krystal.bell@healthcorps.org
2315 34th Street
Sacramento, CA 95817

San Lorenzo High
Erlin Sweeney
erlin.sweeney@healthcorps.org
50 E. Lewelling Blvd.
San Lorenzo, CA 94580

Valley High School
Vanessa Vasquez
vanessa.vazquez@healthcorps.org
1801 South Greenville St
Santa Ana, CA 92704

Franklin High School
Ashley Lulu Ramirez
ashley.ramirez@healthcorps.org
300 North Gertrude Avenue
Stockton, CA 95215

Health Careers Academy High School
Bernice Rosas bernice.rosas@healthcorps.org
931 E. Magnolia Street
Stockton, CA 95202

McClatchy HS
Faith Njoku
faith.njoku@healthcorps.org
3066 Freeport Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95818

Anderson New Technology HS
Natalie Sandoval
natalie.sandoval@healthcorps.org
2098 North St.
Anderson, CA 96007

Edison HS
Jessica Williams
jessica.williams@healthcorps.org
540 E. California Ave
Fresno, CA 93706

Sunnyside HS
Kate Shelton
kate.shelton@healthcorps.org
1019 S. Peach Ave
Fresno, CA 93727

Health Professions HS
Alice Curchin
alice.curchin@healthcorps.org
451 McClatchy Way
Sacramento, CA 95818

Washington D.C.

Washington Mathematics Science Tech Charter School

Clare Parks
clare.parks@healthcorps.org
1920 Bladensburg Rd, N.E.
Washington, DC 20002

Delaware

TBD

Florida

Booker T. Washington HS
Koma Ogaye
koma.ogaye@healthcorps.org
1200 Northwest 6th Ave
Miami, FL 33136Coral Gables HS
Val Butler
val.butler@healthcorps.org
450 Bird Rd.
Miami, FL 33136

New Jersey

Central HS
Jhanae Mahoney
jhanae.mahoney@healthcorps.org
246 Eighteenth Avenue
Newark, NJ 07108Cliffside Park HS
Amanda DiPietro
amanda.dipietro@healthcorps.org
64 Riverview Ave.
Cliffside, NJ 07010

North Bergen HS
Hiba Abousleiman
hiba.abousleiman@healthcorps.org
7417 Kennedy Blvd.
North Bergen, NJ 07047

Maryland

Patterson High School
TBD
100 Kane St.
Baltimore, MD 21224

Mississippi

Clarksdale HS
Brian Garrott
brian.garrott@healthcorps.org
1101 Wildcat Dr.
Clarksdale, MS 38614

Ohio

Ginn Academy
Terrika Kelley
terrika.kelley@healthcorps.org
655 East 162nd street
Cleveland, OH 44110

New York City

Aviation HS
Lacey Salberg
lacey.salberg@healthcorps.org
45-30 36th Street
Queens, NY 11101EBC HS
Margaret Huey
margaret.huey@healthcorps.org
1155 DeKalb Ave.
Brooklyn, NY 11221

Franklin K. Lane HS (Brooklyn Lab)
Sukhee Ramawickrama
sukhee.ramawickrama@healthcorps.org
999 Jamaica Ave.
Brooklyn, NY 11208

Humanities Prep / Baldwin High School
Kapri Kreps
kapri.kreps@healthcorps.org
351 W. 18th Street
New York, NY 10011

Lower Eastside Prep
Tess Nelson
tess.nelson@healthcorps.org
145 Stanton St.
New York, NY 10002

Monroe Academy for Visual Arts and Design
Jonas Kwok
jonas.kwok@healthcorps.org
1300 Boynton Ave.
Bronx, NY 10472

New Utrecht HS
Jessica Siler
jessica.siler@healthcorps.org
1601 80th Street
Brooklyn, NY 11214

Riverdale/Kingsbridge Academy
Maurie Raphaely
maurie.raphaely@healthcorps.org
660 W. 237th Street
Bronx, NY 10463

South Shore HS (Academy for Conservation & Environment)
Camille McGirt
camille.mcgirt@healthcorps.org
6565 Flatlands Ave., 2nd floor
Brooklyn, NY 11236

The Kurt Hahn Expeditionary Learning School
Tonie McKenzie
tonie.mckenzie@healthcorps.org
5800 Tilden Ave.
Brooklyn, NY 11203

University Heights HS
Tamara Barrett
tamara.barrett@healthcorps.org
701 St. Ann’s Ave.
Bronx, NY 10455
KAPPA/Fordam HS
Courtney Reynolds
courtney.reynolds@healthcorps.org
500 E Fordham Road
Bronx, NY 10458

New Design HS
Caileigh Feldman
caileigh.feldman@healthcorps.org
350 Grand Street
New York, NY 10002

The High School of Fashion Industries HS
Courtney Reynolds
courtney.reynolds@healthcorps.org
225 W 24th Street
New York, NY 10011

High School for Health Careers and Sciences
Courtney Reynolds
courtney.reynolds@healthcorps.org
549 Audubon Avenue
New York, NY 10040

North Carolina

Garinger High School
TBD
1100 Eastway Drive
Charlotte, NC 28205West Mecklenburg HS
Maggie Baker
maggie.baker@healthcorps.org
7400 Tuckaseegee Road
Charlotte, NC 28214

Texas

Sharpstown HS
Max Blumenthal
max.blumenthal@healthcorps.org
7504 Bissonnet Street
Houston, TX 77074

Oklahoma

Astec Charter High School
Megan Ling megan.ling@healthcorps.org
2401 NW 23rd ST 3
Oklahoma City, OK 73107Ardmore High School
Bethany Maddox
bethany.maddox@healthcorps.org
701 Veterans Blvd.
Ardmore, OK 73401

Ada High School
Cady Merchant
cady.merchant@healthcorps.org
1400 Stadium Drive
Ada, OK 74820