Left rounded corner
Right rounded corner
Green box
Green box
A Look At HealthCorps' Work
Green arrow

The HealthCorps curriculum is composed of three sections — Mental Resilience, Nutrition and Fitness. This curriculum is aimed at both educating students and providing a holistic and relevant view of the role health plays in their lives.

The curriculum is taught in two manners. With our Living Labs program, HealthCorps Coordinators work in classrooms, the lunchroom and run after-school clubs to provide materials that integrate these elements into a comprehensive health education. Apply to be a Coordinator today.

In the fall of 2012, HealthCorps introduced HealthCorps University, a train the trainer professional development program that makes the HealthCorps principles and curriculum available to virtually any school. For more information, please contact HCU@HealthCorps.org.

Read below to learn more about our programs. You can also click here & here to see images of our coordinators in action!

Living Labs

Mental Resilience: The You Factor

Mental resilience workshops are incorporated throughout the curriculum by promoting self-esteem, enhancing decision-making and communication skills, fostering healthy relationships, and setting long-term goals. HealthCorps shows students the close relationship between physical health and mental health and enables teens to make healthy choices to bolster mental well-being.

Students learn to:

  • Understand that the mind and body are integrally connected
  • Recognize their strengths and self-worth
  • Recognize realistic, healthy body-types
  • Understand that mental health affects physical health
  • Better manage their time
  • Communicate effectively and in a positive way
  • Control anger
  • Understand how sleep is vital to their mood and their health

Nutrition: YOU and Finding Nutritional Balance

The nutrition workshops show students practical ways to choose foods that are healthy, how to make simple changes in their eating behaviors and develop a healthy relationship with food that will last a lifetime.

Students learn to:

  • Eat foods from all five food groups
  • Understand the health benefits and the health detriments of fat
  • Think of portion sizes
  • Eat breakfast to lose weight, gain energy, and do better in school
  • Know that the food they eat affects how they look and feel
  • Learn how to lose or gain weight responsibly
  • Choose healthy foods in restaurants
  • Avoid steroids and dubious supplements
  • Cook from scratch

Fitness: YOU and Your Body

HealthCorps students learn how to maximize their caloric burn everyday by making simple lifestyle choices, like taking the stairs instead of the elevator, getting off the subway a few stops earlier to walk, helping around the house with cooking and cleaning, and even dancing!

Students learn to:

  • Exercise on a regular basis
  • Stay fit without gym equipment
  • Develop a weekly workout plan
  • Find creative and alternative ways to stay fit
  • Chiropractic/Spinal Hygiene

Apply to be a HealthCorps Coordinator Today

HealthCorps University

HealthCorps University is a train-the-trainer professional development program that empowers educators, administrators, and community members to bring HealthCorps’ innovative health and wellness curriculum to schools, summer camps, community centers, and organizations.

HCU provides engaging materials, tools, and training to support staff members as they improve health and wellness through classroom education, staff engagement, community outreach, wellness councils, and other venues.

For more information, please click here or contact HCU@HealthCorps.org.

Our Scope & Goals

HealthCorps’ national program spans 56 high schools in 11 states (CA, FL, MA, MD, MS, NJ, NC, NY, OH, OK, TX) and the District of Columbia. Since our inception we have impacted 223,100 students and 446,200 of their friends and family.

 


Current Schools

California

American Legion High School
Marshal James
marshal.james@healthcorps.org
3801 Broadway
Sacramento, CA 95817

Anderson New Technology High School
Natalie Sandoval
natalie.sandoval@healthcorps.org
2098 North St.
Anderson, CA 96007

Cabrillo High School
Jacquelene Falch
jaki.Falch@healthcorps.org
2001 Santa Fe Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90810

Coachella Valley High School
Luz Aceves-Gonzalez
luz.acevez-gonzalez@healthcorps.org
83800 Airport Rd.
Thermal, CA 92274

Del Norte High School
1301 El Dorado St.
Crescent City, CA 95531

Edison High School
Jessica Williams
jessica.williams@healthcorps.org
540 E. California Ave.
Fresno, CA 93706

Encina Prepatory High School
Kristen Rulifson
kristen.rulifson@healthcorps.org
1400 Bell Street
Sacramento, CA 95825

Felicitas and Gonzalo Mendez Learning Center
Felipe Valencia
felipe.valencia@healthcorps.org
1200 Plaza Del Sol
Los Angeles, CA 90033

Franklin High School
Ashley Lulu Ramirez
ashley.ramirez@healthcorps.org
300 North Gertrude Avenue
Stockton, CA 95215

Hayward High School
Armaria Arnett
armaria.arnett
@healthcorps.org

1633 East Ave.
Hayward, CA 94541

Health Careers Academy High School
Bernice Rosas
bernice.rosas@healthcorps.org
931 E. Magnolia Street
Stockton, CA 95202

Health Professions High School
Alice Curchin
alice.curchin@healthcorps.org
451 McClatchy Way
Sacramento, CA 95818

Herbert Hoover High School
Shonique White
shonique.white@healthcorps.org
4474 El Cajon Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92115

Hiram Johnson High School
Victoria Lyon
victoria.lyon@healthcorps.org
6879 14th Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95820

Long Beach Polytechnic High School
Evelyn Rwema
evelyn.rwema@healthcorps.org
1600 Atlantic Ave.
Long Beach, CA 90813

McClatchy High School
Faith Njoku
faith.njoku@healthcorps.org
3066 Freeport Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95818

NOVA Academy Early College High School of Coachella
Anayeli Zavala
anayeli.zavala@healthcorps.org
52780 Frederick Street
Coachella, CA 92236

Palm Desert High School
Megan Cornejo
megan.cornejo@healthcorps.org
74910 Aztec Rd.
Palm Desert, CA 92260

Rancho Mirage High School
Madelyn Perez
madelyn.perez@healthcorps.org
31001 Rattler Rd.
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270

Roosevelt High School
Saul Jimenez- Suarez
saul.jimenez-suarez@healthcorps.org
AMAHS- Saul Jimenez
456 S. Matthews St.
Los Angeles, CA 90033

Sacramento Charter High School
Krystal Bell
krystal.bell@healthcorps.org
2315 34th Street
Sacramento, CA 95817

San Lorenzo High School
Erlin Sweeney
erlin.sweeney@healthcorps.org
50 E. Lewelling Blvd.
San Lorenzo, CA 94580

Sunnyside High School
Kate Shelton
kate.shelton@healthcorps.org
1019 S. Peach Ave
Fresno, CA 93727

Valley High School 
Vanessa Vazquez
vanessa.vazquez@healthcorps.org
1801 South Greenville St
Santa Ana, CA 92704

Florida

Booker T. Washington High School
Koma Ogaye
koma.ogaye@healthcorps.org
1200 Northwest 6th Ave
Miami, FL 33136

Coral Gables High School
Val Butler
val.butler@healthcorps.org
450 Bird Rd.
Miami, FL 33136

Maryland

Patterson High School
TBD
100 Kane St.
Baltimore, MD 21224

Massachusetts

Edward M. Kennedy Academy
Althea Luhm
althea.luhm@healthcorps.org
110 The Fenway
Boston, MA 02115

Mississippi

Clarksdale High School
Brian Garrott
brian.garrott@healthcorps.org
1101 Wildcat Dr.
Clarksdale, MS 38614

New Jersey

Central High School
Jhanae Mahoney
jhanae.mahoney@healthcorps.org
246 Eighteenth Avenue
Newark, NJ 07108

Cliffside Park High School
Amanda DiPietro
amanda.dipietro@healthcorps.org
64 Riverview Ave.
Cliffside, NJ 07010

North Bergen High School
Hiba Abousleiman
hiba.abousleiman@healthcorps.org
7417 Kennedy Blvd.
North Bergen, NJ 07047

New York City

Aviation High School
Lacey Salberg
lacey.salberg@healthcorps.org
45-30 36th Street
Queens, NY 11101

EBC High School
Margaret Huey
margaret.huey@healthcorps.org
1155 DeKalb Ave.
Brooklyn, NY 11221

Franklin K. Lane High School (Brooklyn Lab)
Sukhee Ramawickrama
sukhee.ramawickrama@healthcorps.org
999 Jamaica Ave.
Brooklyn, NY 11208

High School for Health Careers and Sciences
Zina Kinslow
zina.kinslow@healthcorps.org
549 Audubon Avenue
New York, NY 10040

KAPPA/Fordam High School
Courtney Reynolds
courtney.reynolds@healthcorps.org
500 E Fordham Road
Bronx, NY 10458

Lower East Side Preparatory High School
Tess Nelson
tess.nelson@healthcorps.org
145 Stanton St.
New York, NY 10002

Monroe Academy for Visual Arts and Design
Jonas Kwok
jonas.kwok@healthcorps.org
1300 Boynton Ave.
Bronx, NY 10472

New Design High School
Caileigh Feldman
caileigh.feldman@healthcorps.org
350 Grand Street
New York, NY 10002

New Utrecht High School
Jessica Siler
jessica.siler@healthcorps.org
1601 80th Street
Brooklyn, NY 11214

Riverdale/Kingsbridge Academy
Maurie Raphaely
maurie.raphaely@healthcorps.org
660 W. 237th Street
Bronx, NY 10463

South Shore High School (Academy for Conservation & Environment)
Camille McGirt
camille.mcgirt@healthcorps.org
South Shore High School
6565 Flatlands Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11236

Humanities Preparatory Academy
351 West 18th Street
New York, NY 10011

The High School of Fashion Industries 
Jeannie Goodell
jean.goodell@healthcorps.org
225 W 24th Street
New York, NY 10011

The Kurt Hahn Expeditionary Learning School
Tonie McKenzie
tonie.mckenzie@healthcorps.org
5800 Tilden Ave.
Brooklyn, NY 11203

University Heights High School
Tamara Barrett
tamara.barrett@healthcorps.org
701 St. Ann’s Ave.
Bronx, NY 10455

North Carolina

Garinger High School
Latisha Williams
latisha.williams@healthcorps.org
1100 Eastway Drive
Charlotte, NC 28205

West Mecklenburg High School
Maggie Baker
maggie.baker@healthcorps.org
7400 Tuckaseegee Road
Charlotte, NC 28214

Ohio

Ginn Academy
Terrika Kelley
terrika.kelley@healthcorps.org
655 East 162nd street
Cleveland, OH 44110

Oklahoma

Ada High School
Cady Merchant
cady.merchant@healthcorps.org
1400 Stadium Drive
Ada, OK 74820

Ardmore High School
Bethany Maddox
bethany.maddox@healthcorps.org
701 Veterans Blvd.
Ardmore, OK 73401

Astec Charter High School
Megan Ling megan.ling@healthcorps.org
2401 NW 23rd ST 3
Oklahoma City, OK 73107

Texas

Sharpstown High School
Max Blumenthal
max.blumenthal@healthcorps.org
7504 Bissonnet Street
Houston, TX 77074

Washington D.C.

Washington Mathematics Science Tech Charter School
Clare Parks
clare.parks@healthcorps.org
1920 Bladensburg Rd, N.E.
Washington, DC 20002